Can you get gluten-free beers at the Oktoberfest? –
At this time of year, one of the most frequently asked questions is whether there are gluten-free beers in Munich at the Oktoberfest.
Unfortunately, the answer is a straight no!
No gluten-free beer and it will be difficult to get it in the near future, since, according to the rules of the festival, beers served in tents must strictly comply with the Edict of Purity promulgated in 1485 and signed in Ingolstadt in 1516, according to which “nothing must be used or added to produce beer that is not barley, hops, and water“.
And what about food? Unfortunately, even on this, there is no good news… the fair is too chaotic to guarantee safety on cross-contamination. Even grilled meat is often first sprinkled with beer. You can try to ask at stands that they seem to cook simple dishes, but it will be difficult to guarantee something “safe” to eat.
Among the various stands, however, there is also “Weinzelt” a tent where they don’t sell beer, but various types of wine, sparkling wine and champagne, which the coeliacs can drink safely 🙂
If you still want to experience the Oktoberfest with typical dishes and beer, in a small town near Munich, Aschheim, there is a gluten-free Oktoberfest, but only every two years and the last one was organized in 2017.
Do you still want to participate in this fair with your friends and don’t want to give up your trip to Munich?
Find the best gluten-free places in Munich on Glusearch
Leave your review for those you’ve tried: your opinion is important to help other celiacs!
We wrote 3 articles with various hotels, restaurants and pastry shops in the city, where you can find gluten-free products and beer:
Enjoy your holiday in beautiful Munich and have fun!
Vivere Senza Glutine – Liberi di viaggiare
Are you beer lovers?
On Vivere Senza Glutine you can find the COMPLETE GUIDE OF GLUTEN-FREE BEERS
More gluten-free cities: