Disneyland Paris gluten-free –
What can we eat in the Disneyland Paris amusement park? Can you talk as Disneyland Paris gluten-free?
France is by no means one of the most “easy” countries for celiac disease, as it generally doesn’t seem to be well informed, especially when it comes to explaining the problem in restaurants.
But it must be made an important premise…
In Italy, for products at risk of contamination AIC “Associazione Italiana Celiachia” (Italian Celiacs Association) tells us to buy and consume only products with the word SENZA GLUTINE (GLUTEN-FREE).
The association of French celiac disease AFDIAG explicitly states that allergen is among the ingredients, so all those products that do not contain prohibited cereals (for example blé – wheat / barley – rye / orge – barley) can be consumed by the celiac subject.
If you find starch, or modified starch, without any specification, then the product is gluten-free, otherwise, you will find expressions such as “amidon de blé” or similar.
On contaminated products, then the sentence “may contain traces of grain containing gluten”.
This, moreover, is not valid only in France, but also in countries like Switzerland and Belgium, where celiacs make their purchases simply by looking at allergens on the label.
So the problem for us in France is more about “confidence”.
If we decide to follow the “Italian” rule of the “gluten-free” sentence, we can only eat products with the above-mentioned text, but in France, there are very few :(.
But if we decide to give confidence to how celiac disease is handled in the various countries, then in France we will have no problems finding different products suitable for those who follow a gluten-free diet.
Everything is reduced to a personal choice.
Disneyland Paris gluten-free: what can we really eat inside the park
How is the situation for celiacs in the most famous amusement park in Europe? We show you “Disneyland Paris gluten-free”
We were there for you and we talked directly to a park nutrition manager, so we personally experienced the whole “gluten-free” offer: in this article, we put a definitive point on the gluten-free situation at Disneyland Paris!
Among the celiacs reigns a bit of confusion regarding this park: there are people who have not been able to eat virtually anything and others to which the chefs have cooked specially for them and for their children. Where is the truth?
We took an appointment with a park manager and we finally got all the DEFINITIVE answers we were expecting.
First of all, Disneyland Paris offers the gluten-free menu Natama, which in addition to gluten covers 16 other allergies (peanuts, lupin, fish, celery, molluscs, sesame, shellﬁsh, mustard , soy, fenugreek, nuts (all types), sulphates, gluten, egg/egg products, milk (all types/products), yellow pea).
In the Natama menu, you can find a choice between 2 starters, 4 main courses, and 3 desserts.
Disneyland Paris gluten-free – Natama Menu – Starter:
Cream of tomato soup: Tomatoes, potatoes, virgin olive oil, sugar, basil, salt, pepper.
Tomato and green bean ﬂan: Tomato coulis, green beans, peeled and chopped tomatoes, cornﬂ our, ﬁrst cold pressed extra virgin olive oil, granulated sugar, basil, black pepper, sea salt
Disneyland Paris gluten-free – Natama Menu – Main course:
Beef with olives: Potatoes, cooked beef (beef shank, salt), tomatoes, carrots, olives, onions, virgin olive oil, rice ﬂ our, sugar, salt, rosemary, thyme, pepper
Beef meatballs with Neapolitan sauce and fragrant rice: Pre-cooked long grain rice, cooked meatballs (beef, salt), tomatoes, onions, virgin olive oil, sugar, salt, thyme, basil, rosemary
Vegetarian pasta: Corn pasta, carrots, leeks, button mushrooms, broccoli, onions, aubergines, virgin olive oil, salt, basil, pepper
Veal sausages with potato and courgette mash: Potatoes, cooked veal sausages, water, courgettes, virgin olive, salt
Disneyland Paris gluten-free – Natama Menu – Dessert:
Peach delight: Apple, peach purée (peach, sugar), sugar.
Caramelized apples: Apple, sugar.
Caramelized pears: Poire Williams, sugar.
The Natama Menu is available at the restaurants and hotels of the park. No pre-reservation is necessary
If you would like to have lunch or dinner at one of table service or buffet-style restaurants, advance reservations are recommended. Simply contact the Central Restaurant Reservation Service at +33 (0) 1 60 30 40 50, or at the entrance of the park, at the information point “City Hall”.
Natama gluten-free menu is available at the following restaurants:
Disneyland Paris gluten-free – Disneyland Park:
ADVENTURELAND: Blue Lagoon Restaurant
FRONTIERLAND: Silver Spur Steakhouse
MAIN STREET, U.S.A.: Walt’s – An American Restaurant
FANTASYLAND: Auberge de Cendrillon
MAIN STREET, U.S.A.: Plaza Gardens Restaurant
ADVENTURELAND: Restaurant Agrabah Café
DISCOVERYLAND: Buzz Lightyear’s Pizza Planet Restaurant
ADVENTURELAND: Colonel Hathi’s, Pizza Outpost, Restaurant Hakuna Matata
FRONTIERLAND: Fuente del Oro Restaurante, Last Chance Cafe, Cowboy Cookout Barbecue
FRONTIERLAND: The Lucky Nugget Saloon
MAIN STREET, U.S.A.: Casey’s Corner, Market House Deli, Victoria’s Home-Style Restaurant
FANTASYLAND: Au Chalet de la Marionnette, Pizzeria Bella Notte, Ristorante Toad Hall
DISCOVERYLAND: Café Hyperion
Disneyland Paris gluten-free – Walt Disney Studios Park:
Restaurant des Stars
Restaurant En Coulisse
Disney Blockbuster Café
Café des Cascadeurs
Bistrot chez Remy
La Grange at Billy Bob’s Country
Western Saloon (buffet service)
The Steakhouse Restaurant
New York Style Sandwiches
Buffalo Bill’s Wild West Show (dinner show)
Natama gluten-free menu is available at the following hotels:
Hotel Disney Disneyland
Hotel Disney’s Hotel New York
Disney’s Newport Bay Club
Disney’s Sequoia Lodge
Disney’s Hotel Santa Fe
Disney’s Hotel Cheyenne
Disney’s Davy Crockett Ranch
Clubhouse Grill at Golf Disneyland
Disneyland Paris gluten-free – Is the Natama menu any good?
The menu comes with the 3 “dishes” still sealed (those that need to be hot are heated yet closed).
I have tasted:
- Cream of tomato soup – it served cold, is very acidic and has a taste that is far from pleasant, inedible to me 🙁
- Vegetarian pasta – are fusilli with boiled mixed vegetables, the pasta is completely chopped and everything is without salt. Adding a little salt we say it becomes edible…
- Peach delight – puree of apples and peaches, slightly sugared, also this quite tasteless.
If I have to be honest it looks like a hospital meal. A hospital where you eat particularly bad!
The cost of the menu is € 15.99.
Disneyland Paris gluten-free – And for breakfast?
For breakfast, the park is provided with food that must be booked in advance because they are not always available.
We can confirm that within the park, the products listed below can not be found if you arrive there at the moment and want to have breakfast (we asked all the outlets listed below) so I would recommend, if you stay in a hotel, to book in advance the products.
List of products (they are packaged products, not fresh):
RUSTIC SLICED BREAD (gluten-free) Ingredients: water, corn starch, rice ﬂ our, buckwheat ﬂ our, humectant (sorbitol), non-hydrogenated palm oil, vegetable ﬁbres (inulin), thickening agents (guar gum, locust bean gum), baker’s yeast, glucose syrup, salt, sugar, emulsiﬁer (rapeseed lecithin), preservative (calcium propionate).
SABLÉ BISCUITS (gluten-free, lactose-free, dairy-free) Ingredients: potato starch, sugar, corn starch, non-hydrogenated palm oil, corn ﬂ our, modiﬁ ed starch, emulsiﬁer (rapeseed lecithin), salt, baking powder (ammonium carbonate).
CHOCOLATE CHIP COOKIES (gluten-free, lactose-free, dairy-free) Ingredients: sugar, non-hydrogenated palm oil, corn ﬂ our, teff ﬂ our, chocolate chips 9% (cocoa paste, cocoa butter, sugar, emulsiﬁ er: soya lecithin, natural vanilla ﬂavouring), rice ﬂ our, tapioca starch, glucose syrup, aroma, emulsiﬁer (rapeseed lecithin), baking powder (ammonium carbonate), thickening agent (xanthan gum), rice starch, salt.
MINI CHOCOLATE CHIP CAKES (gluten-free, lactose-free, dairy-free) Ingredients: eggs, sugar, potato starch, non-hydrogenated palm oil, chocolate chips 11% (cocoa paste, sugar, cocoa butter, emulsiﬁer: soya lecithin, natural vanilla ﬂavouring), dextrose, rice ﬂour, stabiliser (glycerol), glucose syrup, thickening agents (locust bean ﬂour, xanthan gum), emulsiﬁer (rapeseed lecithin), baking powder (diphosphate, sodium carbonate, calcium phosphate), salt.
MINI MARBLE CAKES (gluten-free, lactose-free, dairy-free) Ingredients: eggs, sugar, non-hydrogenated palm oil, potato starch, rice ﬂ our, dextrose, chocolate 6.5% (cocoa paste, sugar, cocoa butter, emulsiﬁ er: soy lecithin, natural vanilla ﬂavouring), humectant (glycerol), glucose syrup, emulsiﬁer (rapeseed lecithin), baking powder (diphosphates, sodium carbonates, calcium phosphates), thickening agents (locust bean ﬂ our, xanthan gum), salt.
Only available at hotel buffets:
CRAC’FORM (gluten-free, egg-free, lactose-free, dairy-free) Ingredients: corn ﬂour, rice ﬂour, sugar, salt.
The products listed above are available (upon reservation) at:
Disneyland Hotel, Disney’s Hotel New York, Disney’s Newport Bay Club, Disney’s Sequoia Lodge, Disney’s Hotel Santa Fe, Disney’s Hotel Cheyenne, Disney’s Davy Crockett Ranch.
Breakfast Disney Morning: Café Hypérion, Cable Car Bake Shop, Market House Deli, Pizzeria Bella Notte.
Breakfast with Disney Characters: Plaza Gardens Restaurant.
New York Style Sandwiches.
The information above is subject to change without notice. Therefore, please be sure to conﬁrm availability of special items before your trip via your reservations agent or with your hotel concierge or restaurant host or hostess as soon as you arrive.
Disneyland Paris gluten-free – What can we eat besides the Natama menu?
To have accurate (and safe) answers about everything we can eat at Eurodisney, we took an appointment and spoke directly with a park manager.
In addition to the Natama menu, you can ask at any restaurant or hotel what dishes are gluten-free but beware: they refer to the allergen book only, now mandatory throughout Europe, without any attention to cross-contamination.
The park manager we interviewed has expressly stated that NONE KITCHEN, either in the park or in the hotels, can be careful about cross-contamination: the various cooked and served dishes can’t be considered 100% safe.
He then explicitly stated that, for celiac subjects, it’s preferable to choose to the gluten-free menu Natama.
In some hotels, you may find, in some circumstances, a more “available” chef, willing to cook french fries, rice, or other dishes, “apart.” But, again, the “non-contamination” of dishes can not be guaranteed. Furthermore, keep in mind that most of the staff in the kitchen and halls are made up of “seasonal” boys and girls, who have no preparation on it and often don’t even know what celiac disease is or what gluten is.
So don’t eat Natama meals and ask the staff which dishes are gluten-free, is a viable route, but it doesn’t give you security from the point of view of cross-contamination.
Below you can download the PDF file “Disneyland Paris gluten-free” with all the information about Natama menu and where to find it: print it or save it on your smartphone so you can bring it with you.
Disneyland Paris gluten-free – Restaurants with gluten-free menu in Disneyland Paris
There is only one restaurant with a gluten-free menu in Disneyland Paris and it’s Planet Hollywood, at Disney Village (an area just off the park, with various venues, created for nightly entertainment, but open all day). Their menu has various gluten-free options: appetizers, burgers, pizza, pasta, salads and grilled meat.
Here is the detailed review “Planet Hollywood gluten-free“.
Also at Disney Village, you can eat a gluten-free focaccia at Starbucks. Reading on the internet it would seem that the gluten-free offer is 2 or 3 sandwiches and a cake, but we found only this focaccia here (while in some Starbucks in Paris we found nothing).
The focaccia was individually wrapped and is heated 2 minutes in the microwave, still wrapped.
I must say that it’s very good, both the bread and the filling and it’s a really big sandwich at the price of € 5.95.
Locate Planet Hollywood and Starbucks on Disneyland Paris’ interactive map:
Disneyland Paris gluten-free – snacks, candies, and ice-cream
Ice cream is NOT guaranteed in any park venue, and cross-contamination is absolute. For example in “The Gibson Girl” ice-cream parlor even if there were 1 or 2 gluten-free flavors (always ask staff, tastes may change) most of them, if not already stuffed with biscuits or brownies inside, is served with only one spoon for all flavors.
Also, on top of all ice-creams, they put a waffle: even asking not to put it, the attendant will prepare your ice-cream after touching the waffle of the previous ice-cream 🙁
With the crowd that there is usually in the park, it’s unlikely that the person who serves the ice cream will change the gloves, wash the spoon carefully, or take a new ice-cream pack just to make your gluten-free ice cream … anyway, you can try to ask.
On the ice-cream front there is a good news: from July 2017 at the Disney Village, there is a Grom ice-cream stand, all without gluten, like any Grom ice-cream! In addition to the cone, they also sell gluten-free cookies! To find out more, let us refer to our article about Grom gluten-free ice-cream parlors with all information about their products.
Grom’s setup is “temporary”, so you can find it from June to October.
Bad note … 2 medium cones cost € 10.50.
To make you understand how Disney’s staff is, in most cases, totally unprepared: the first time we went to the Grom stand, we asked the girl who served the ice-cream a confirmation that it was all gluten-free and she told us that it was all with gluten!
We were not absolutely convinced of the thing, as Grom doesn’t have a production chain with gluten, so we came back the next day and ask the new attendant, which instead confirmed to us that it was obviously everything without gluten (ice-cream, cones, and biscuits).
From this anecdote, it can be understood that the manipulation of dishes and foods in “promiscuous” places is certainly problematic for celiacs in the park.
Finally, as packaged ice-creams there are these:
We checked the packs of Algida’s ice creams sold in the park: both Magnum and popsicles, don’t have the word “gluten-free”, but there are no prohibited cereals among the ingredients (go to the beginning of this article to better understand the handling of food at risk in France).
Candies and chocolates
For packaged candies and chocolates sold in the park, we never found the sentence “gluten-free” on neither of the packaging. However, there are always well-defined ingredients and, in some products, there is this sentence: “they may contain traces of cereals with gluten” (go to the beginning of this article to better understand the handling of food at risk in France).
Candies by weight: for this type of candy, the staff has an allergens’ guide and can indicate which candies are gluten-free.
Enlarge the images for more details on Candies by weight:
The problem though is that the spoons are all kept together, so candies with gluten are taken with the same spoon as gluten-free candies. Candies have no flour around, so the contamination is not so direct, but it’s good to know they come into contact with the same spoon.
Packaged popcorn in stores doesn’t have the sentence “gluten-free” but have ingredients with specified allergens. Checking well, some packages have cereal with gluten and others haven’t (go to the beginning of this article to better understand the handling of food at risk in France).
The popcorn sold in the park, in the stands where they make them fresh, have gluten. 🙁
French fries and chips
The french fries in the fryers of the various facilities of the park are all at risk of contamination and those packaged don’t have the sentence “gluten-free” but, as usual, allergens are well-specified and there are some of them without glutinous ingredients (go to the beginning of this article to better understand the handling of food at risk in France).
Disneyland Paris gluten-free – Some personal considerations
Definitely, on the “food” front the park is not good, the only secure meal, the Natama, is not good at all … practically unthinkable for a child, but for the “Summer 2017”, we have ice-cream and cookies by Grom, all good products, albeit with a big surcharge.
As a restaurant with a gluten-free menu, we have Planet Hollywood, which isn’t bad at all and has a good selection of gluten-free dishes.
If you decide to just look at the ingredients, you can eat various types of packaged chocolate, candy, popcorn, chips, and marshmallow.
We adults, good or bad, can arrange us more easily; the problem arises for children who are, in the end, the true “protagonists” of the “Disney experience“.
In our opinion, the important thing is to not let our children miss the opportunity to visit and enjoy the beauty of the Disney’s park: they haven’t to give up anything, as much as possible, just because of Celiac disease.
Organize yourself by taking your son’s favorite “Disney-style” sweet and savory snacks (popcorn, chips, candies, biscuits, chocolate bars, etc.): as soon as they want something, take out a treat from your “Mary Poppins backpack “, so they will not miss anything about “Disney magic” 😉
Disneyland Paris gluten-free – How to organize yourself for lunch?
In the Disneyland area there is the “Val d’Europe” shopping center (accessible by car, bus, and RER) with a large Auchan supermarket: there you will find plenty of gluten-free products, plus fresh bread of the brand “Genius“, which is very good, even without the need to be warmed or toasted.
Always in the supermarket, you will find many products that are always safe, such as prosciutto (ham) and various Italian or Spanish products that have the sentence “gluten-free”.
So for lunch, a nice sandwich with chips bought at the supermarket, fresh vegetables and fruit, juices, yogurt and everything you like. If you only look at the ingredients, then there are a lot of things to buy: only if you are looking for the sentence “sans gluten” (gluten-free), then buyable products are dropping drastically, but in this supermarket, they are still enough (with Italian and Spanish imports).
Disneyland Paris gluten-free – For dinner?
In Disney Village, there is Planet Hollywood which has a good selection of gluten-free dishes such as pasta, sandwiches, pizza, and salads.
For eating, we are all right and then … go on with the rides, the Disney characters, princess and pirate dresses, the shows, the parades and the beautiful “Disney Illuminations” show featuring projections on the castle, fireworks, games of lights, water, and smoke … absolutely not to be missed!
So enjoy your vacation!
After all, Disneyland is always “The Happiest Place On Earth” 😉
Vivere Senza Glutine – Liberi di viaggiare
Since you have been asking for “gluten-free” information in Disneyland Paris, we’ve been trying to search as thoroughly as possible on the subject, personally trying out many locals and products and creating this detailed guide on “Disneyland Paris gluten-free“. If you find this information useful, sharing it on your social network, it will help many other people who are not yet well-informed on the subject.
If you liked this post you can also read: